Submissions are now being accepted for the 2014 ASAPS Journalistic Achievement Awards.

Entries must be from media coverage of January 1, 2013 - December 31, 2013. 

Awards Categories

Entries will be accepted in the following categories:

  • Newspaper
  • Magazine
  • Television News
  • Television Feature (news magazine/talk show)
  • Radio
  • Internet
  • Patient Safety

For each category: Entries will be accepted from national, regional and local media, one winner will be chosen. 

Eligibility Requirements

All types of articles and broadcasts related to aesthetic (cosmetic) plastic surgery qualify for consideration. Entries for the 2014 competition must have been published or aired between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013. 

Nomination Procedure

Nominations may be made by journalists themselves, plastic surgeons who are members or candidates of ASAPS, ASAPS staff, or plastic surgery regional societies. More than one entry may be submitted for each journalist. 

Entry Format

Attach a completed entry form (or a photocopy of it) to each entry. Newspaper and magazine articles should be submitted in original, published form (no photocopies). Internet articles must be submitted as screen print-outs. Television entries are preferred in DVD format, but VHS format will also be accepted. Radio entries must be submitted on CD. For all television and radio category entries, total running time should appear on the DVD or CD label. ASAPS is not responsible for loss or damage to any entry submitted. Entries will not be returned. Entrants are requested to keep copies of their entry. When articles or broadcasts are produced as a series, all the parts must be submitted as one entry.

Deadline for Entries

Entries must be received by the ASAPS Communications Office no later than February 17, 2014. Submissions received after that date cannot be considered.


A panel of communications professionals and plastic surgeons will evaluate each article or broadcast according to the following criteria:

  • Accuracy of information and balanced reporting
  • Interest, originality and journalistic style

(Note: No award will be given in a category if the judges determine that none of the entries meets the awards criteria.) 

The Winners' Circle

Since the Journalistic Achievement Awards were established in 1991, ASAPS has recognized the following media as either winners or runners-up:

Newspaper: Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Miami Herald, Oklahoma Gazette, Orange County Register, The New York Times, The Record, Rocky Mountain News, The Tennessean, Suburban Chicago's Daily Herald, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post

Magazine: Allure, America West, American Health, Consumer's Digest, D Magazine, Elle, Essence, FDA Consumer Magazine, Glamour, Men's Fitness, Mirabella, Sacramento Magazine, Scottsdale Life, Self, Town and Country, Vogue, The Washingtonian 

Television: ABC-TV "20/20," ABC-TV "Good Morning America," America's Health Network, CBS-TV "Early Show", CNN's Investigative Unit, CNN Live Today, CNN's Medical News Unit, Film Garden Entertainment, KDFW-TV (Dallas, TX), KDVR-TV (Denver, CO), KGTV (San Diego, CA), KNBC-TV (Los Angeles, CA), KOVR-TV (Sacramento, CA), KSTU-TV (Salt Lake City, UT), "Montel Williams Show", NBC-TV "Dateline," NBC-TV Nightly News, NBC-TV "Today Show," New York 1 News (New York, NY), News 12 Long Island, PBS HealthWeek, PBS "To The Contrary", WABC-TV (New York, NY), WBAL-TV (Baltimore, MD), WCBS-TV (New York), WCVB-TV(Boston, MA), WESH-TV (Orlando, FL), WFAA-TV (Dallas, TX), WPIX-TV (New York, NY), WPLG-TV (Miami, FL), WSCV Channel 51 Telemundo (Hialeah, FL), WSMV-TV (Nashville, TN), WTTW-TV (Chicago, IL), WTVJ-TV (Miami, FL), WVIA-TV(Pittston, PA)

Radio: KERA 90.1 (Dallas, TX), KGO-AM (San Francisco, CA), KSDO-AM (San Diego, CA), WCTC-AM (New Brunswick, NJ), WWBA Morning Magazine (Tampa, FL), WYVN-FM (Holland, MI) 

Internet:,,,,, WebMD ,


Award recipients will be notified by April 1, 2014. Judges may also give special recognition to several entries in each category by awarding certificates of merit. Winners will be named in a nationally distributed press release. The Awards presentation honoring the winners will be presented on the ASAPS website and accessible for download.

More Information

Please contact the ASAPS Communications Office if you have questions about your entry.

American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery
Communications Office 

36 West 44th Street, Suite 1205
New York, NY 10036

Tel: 212.921.0500
Fax: 212.921.0011

Entry Form

Download the 2014 Journalistic Achievement Awards entry form.
Download (in Microsoft Word)


The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS), is recognized as the world's leading organization devoted entirely to aesthetic plastic surgery and cosmetic medicine of the face and body. ASAPS is comprised of over 2,600 Plastic Surgeons; Active Members are certified by the American Board of Plastic Surgery (USA) or by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and have extensive training in the complete spectrum of surgical and nonsurgical aesthetic procedures. International Active Members are certified by equivalent boards of their respective countries. All members worldwide adhere to a strict Code of Ethics and must meet stringent membership requirements.


Copyright © 2009-2019 ASAPS. All Rights Reserved.