California-Based Board-Certified Plastic Surgeon, Daniel C. Mills, MD, Named New President of American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery

New Board Members Elected at the 2016 Annual Aesthetic Meeting

Las Vegas, NV (April 5, 2016) – The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery (ASAPS) announced the election of Daniel C. Mills, MD, a board-certified plastic surgeon operating a private practice in Laguna Beach, California, as its new President at The Aesthetic Meeting 2016. The Aesthetic Society is the leading professional organization devoted entirely to aesthetic plastic surgery and cosmetic medicine of the face and body, comprised of over 2,600 board-certified plastic surgeons.

Dr. Mills currently serves as the Medical Director at Laguna Beach Rejuvenation and Wellness, and teaches residents within the plastic surgery department at Loma Linda University School of Medicine. He is an active member of ASAPS, the California Society of Plastic Surgeons, American College of Surgeons and The American Association of Plastic Surgery. Dr. Mills served as the President of the California Society of Plastic Surgeons from June 2007 until June 2008. He is currently the technical editor of the Aesthetic Surgery Journal, the professional, clinical peer-reviewed journal of ASAPS.  He has published numerous books and papers on advances in the reconstructive and aesthetic field.

“I am confident that Dr. Mills will lead the Aesthetic Society to greater heights, infusing his initiatives with enthusiasm and reverence for the science, art and safe practice of aesthetic plastic surgery and cosmetic medicine. His extensive background in research, public education and patient safety-focused committee work has afforded him an in-depth understanding of our Society’s structure, and operations that are essential to leading the Society,” notes James C. Grotting, MD, Immediate Past-President of ASAPS.

“It is an honor to assume the role of President of The Aesthetic Society. We are truly a unique organization, consisting of top-tier board-certified aesthetic plastic surgeons. I welcome the opportunity to work with our Board of Directors and specialized committees to advance our public and physician education enterprises as well as our patient safety initiatives. In an effort to further distinguish ASAPS members from other organizations, we will continue to generate expanded awareness of our particular brand of refined expertise, (specifically in aesthetic plastic surgery), enhance member benefits and distinctions, promote patient safety and better patient outcomes, and provide the best educational opportunities possible for our members,” notes Dr. Mills.

Other newly named Aesthetic Society officers serving on ASAPS’ 2016 Executive Committee are as follows:

President-Elect: Clyde H. Ishii, MD of Honolulu, HI.  An Aesthetic Society Member since 1996, Dr. Ishii is in private practice and is the chief of plastic surgery at Honolulu Shriners Hospital. Dr. Ishii currently serves on the Society’s Finance and Investment Committee, Webinar Subcommittee, Publications committee and Industry Policy committee. He served as president and governor-at-large of the Hawaii chapter of the American College of Surgeons. Dr. Ishii performs volunteer burn reconstruction, hand surgery and treatment of congenital deformities at the Honolulu Shriners Hospital.

Vice President: W. Grant Stevens, MD of Los Angeles, CA. An Aesthetic Society member since 1994, Dr. Stevens is the medical director of Marina Plastic Surgery.  Dr. Stevens is a clinical professor of surgery at the University of Southern California division of plastic & reconstructive surgery, the director of the USC – Marina Del Rey Aesthetic Surgery Fellowship, and the director of the USC Aesthetic Surgery division. He is an active member at Marina Del Rey Hospital where he served as chairman of the department of surgery. He is also the past chairman of the liposuction committee and the past co-director of the breast center. He now serves as the current Chairman of Industry Relations for ASAPS. He was appointed by the governor to the Medical Board of California medical quality review board, and is currently the Co-National Secretary and Third Vice President of the International Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgery. Dr. Stevens also serves on the Editorial Board for the Aesthetic Surgery Journal.

Treasurer: Charles Thorne, MD of New York, NY. An Aesthetic Society Member since 1996, Dr. Thorne is in private practice and is an Associate Professor of Surgery at NYU and Chairman of the Department of Plastic Surgery at Lenox Hill Hospital and Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital. He just completed his term as Chair of the American Board of Plastic Surgery. Dr. Thorne has served as the Cosmetic Section Editor of the Journal of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, as Editor-in-Chief of the Grabb and Smith Plastic Surgery Textbook and was president of the Northeastern Society of Plastic Surgeons in 2003.

Secretary: Herluf Lund, Jr., MD of St. Louis, MO has been a member of The Aesthetic Society since 2000.  Dr. Lund is President of St. Louis Cosmetic Surgery, a four member plastic surgical group in private practice specializing in aesthetic surgery and cosmetic medicine.   Dr. Lund has served as a Councilor, the Treasurer and the Secretary for the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society.  He is a past president of the Missouri Association of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons and the Washington University Medical Center Alumni Association.  Dr. Lund completed his plastic surgery residency at Washington University School of Medicine where he was actively involved in numerous research projects including the safety and design of implants for both breast augmentation and breast reconstruction.

ABOUT The Aesthetic Society

The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery, is recognized as the world's leading organization devoted entirely to aesthetic plastic surgery and cosmetic medicine of the face and body. The Aesthetic Society is comprised of over 2,600 Plastic Surgeons; Active Members are certified by the American Board of Plastic Surgery (USA) or by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and have extensive training in the complete spectrum of surgical and nonsurgical aesthetic procedures. International Active Members are certified by equivalent boards of their respective countries. All members worldwide adhere to a strict Code of Ethics and must meet stringent membership requirements.


Copyright © 2009-2021 the Aesthetic Society. All Rights Reserved.